How Cool Is It!

I know you are all busy regaining the rhythm of school and work (and catching up on email!)  Accordingly I will keep my message short and to the point.

  1. Don’t forget that there are a dozen different opportunities to participate in  Framework Dine and Discuss events happening around the state throughout the month of January.  For locations, times, and registration please go to the MSTA website. Again, my thanks go out to the Maine Science Teachers Association and all of the science and technology educators who are volunteering their time to make these events happen.
  2. I have some GREAT guest bloggers joining me this month.  Scott Phair from Capitol Area Technical Center and Ruth Kermish-Allen from the Island Institute will both be making an “appearance”. If you have not yet signed up to be a follower of the blog, consider making it one of your 2012 Resolutions.  It is free and you only have to do it once! Just enter your email in the “Follow” bar on the right.
  3. STEM is getting more and more press.  The Bangor Daily News published an article today.  These articles in the press are very helpful in making the case for STRONG science, technology, engineering and mathematics education in our K-12 schools.

With the development of the Next Generation Science Standards looming, 2012 promises to be an historic year for science and technology education. And… I can’t help but share this WONDERFUL minute-long video clip that came my way in December. The video shows dolphins and bubbles. How cool is it! How could you not get excited about STEM?

I will close with a wish for a happy, healthy 2012.

